Our Collaborative

ECOBARI brings together a broad range of individuals and organisations, encompassing government representatives, civil society organisations, businesses, academia, financial institutions, funds, NGOs, media, and more. Collaboratively, we strive to advance the adoption of Ecosystem-based Adaptation (EbA) across the Global South. Through our joint endeavors, we aim to empower rural communities, enhance their income opportunities, and promote sustainable livelihoods through nature-based solutions

How ECOBARI is Governed

ECOBARI’s Secretariat is housed at the WOTR Centre for Resilience Studies (W-CReS). Together, WOTR and W-CReS are the founder, promoter and convener. While the founding partners and the steering committee, comprising diverse experts, are responsible for shaping the policy process, the day-to-day management is entrusted to the Secretariat, supported by the Steering Committee. Our community consists of:

The Steering

The Steering Committee

Comprising experts from complementary disciplines, the Committee aligns with ECOBARI's vision, mission, and principles, guiding the collaborative's practice and policy aspects


The Secretariat

Responsible for ensuring smooth operations and fostering stakeholder interactions, the Secretariat plays a crucial role in achieving ECOBARI's goals and objectives by taking responsibility for day-to-day actions


Action cells

The primary mode of engagement at ECOBARI will be through its action cells. They will help operationalise ECOBARI’s vision and mission through collaborative actions


General members

Institutions and individuals who express interest in ECOBARI's initiatives and sign up for the charter can stay informed through regular updates via the mailing list. Depending on their area of expertise, and upcoming collaborative activities, they may be invited to join an action cell or adhoc working group, as and when required

The Steering Committee

Dr. Marcella D’Souza, is the Director of W-CReS (WOTR Centre for Resilience Studies) and the convenor of ECOBARI. With over three decades of experience in rural development she has served as the Executive Director and a Trustee of WOTR. She spearheaded various innovative initiatives including the establishment of W-CReS. She has also developed the pedagogy to integrate health, gender and women’s empowerment in watershed development projects, which has been widely adopted.

Dr. Anjal Prakash, the Clinical Associate Professor (Research) and Research Director at the Bharti Institute of Public Policy, Indian School of Business, brings a wealth of expertise spanning two decades. His work centers around water, climate change, gender, and concerns specific to mountainous terrains. Dr Prakash has been contributing to IPCC reports in the 6th Assessment cycle as lead author in chapters on urbanisation, mountains and cross-chapter box on gender and climate change.

Dr. Erach Bharucha, is the Director of Bharati Vidyapeeth Institute of Environmental Education and Research, Pune and a surgeon turned wildlife conservationist. With over 50 years of experience, he’s a renowned wildlife photographer, active member of several conservation institutions, and advocate for environmental education. His work has garnered awards, leaving a lasting impact on nature conservation.

Jasmer Dhingra, Director- Programs (India) at IDH, The Sustainable Trade Initiative, is involved in various Agri commodity programs and serves as a member of the India Leadership Team. She spearheads the Regenerative Production landscape and Women’s Safety Accelerator Fund.

K J Joy, is a senior fellow at SOPPECOM and is a seasoned activist researcher with 35 years of experience. His expertise includes drought management, water conflicts, participatory irrigation management, and watershed-based development. In recognition of his contributions, he was honored with the TN Khoshoo Memorial Award in 2016.

Larissa Stiem-Bhatia, is currently leading the NbS program at TMG – Think Tank for Sustainability in Berlin. Larissa’s work covers the broad area of ecosystem-based adaptation, food systems transformation, soil restoration and inclusive governance. With a background in environmental and sustainability science, she has vast research experience in Africa and India.

Namita Vikas, is the Founder and Managing Director of auctusESG. An award-winning senior business leader with over 32 years of diverse global experience in sustainable finance, climate transition and ESG across banking and technology. Previously held a CXO with a large Indian private bank, issued the maiden green bond and launched several innovative first-of-its-kind sustainable finance products.

Prakash Keskar, is the Executive Director of WOTR and had assumed the role in April 2019. With a rich background in the development sector, he brings over 25 years of experience, working at different levels and in diverse geographical contexts. His expertise lies in watershed development, climate change adaptation, and managing large-scale rural development projects.

Dr. Ravi Prabhu, is the Director, Innovation, Investment and Impact and the Deputy Director General at CIFOR-ICRAF. He is an accomplished scientist, focuses on multidisciplinary action research in forested landscapes. He has actively participated in various initiatives and committees, including the Millennium Ecosystem Assessment.

Dr. Shannon Olsson, is the Global Director and Founder of the echo network. As a chemical ecologist, she studies nature’s chemical conversations in India’s diverse ecosystems. Additionally, she is the Special Scientific Envoy to India with the Danish Academy of Technical Sciences and serves as co-Principle Investigator in the Biodiversity Collaborative.

Become a member

Join us today in making communities more resilient through
nature-based solutions! If you are an individual or institution who wishes to contribute to upscaling EbA by contributing to case studies, providing training tools, developing project proposals, participating in research and implementation, offering financial support, promoting EbA concepts, and more…

The Secretariat

Arjuna Srinidhi

National Anchor

Arjuna Srinidhi is the thematic lead of Ecosystem-based Adaptation in W-CReS. He specializes in climate change adaptation, building resilience and sustainable development in dryland areas. Arjuna has over 15 years of experience across different aspects of energy, environment, climate change and sustainable development in India and abroad.

Anukriti Shaw holds the position of Assistant Coordinator at ECOBARI, responsible for coordinating its day-to-day activities. With a Master’s degree in Wildlife Conservation Action, she brings a transdisciplinary expertise that encompasses research, writing, and graphic design skills focused on ecology and the environment.

Anukriti Shaw

Assistant Coordinator

Skand Agarwal holds the position of Assistant Coordinator of ECOBARI. He is a recent Erasmus Graduate in Transnational Governance from the European University Institute, Italy with specialization in Climate Change and Sustainability. Apart from adaptation, he has also researched and written on environmental migration and briefly worked with Revolve in Spain.

Skand Agarwal

Assistant Coordinator

Scroll to Top